UCM Sports

Mules fall in final dual of the season to Nebraska-Kearney

(KEARNEY, Neb.) — The Central Missouri Mules wrestling team finished the 2013-2014 season with a 35-8 loss to No. 2 Nebraska-Kearney on Friday evening. Malacai Collins(125) and Frank Cagnina (149) were the only Mules walk away from the match with a win.

The meet began with Collins beating No. 7 Connor Bolling with a 9-3 decision, to give the Mules (6-6, 2-4 MIAA) a short lead at 3-0. Andrew Robinson (133) and Eric Mateo(141) dropped the following two matches. Robinson was pinned at 1:28 by No. 1 Daniel DeShazer and Mateo lost with by major decision to Brock Coutu.  Cagnina beat Tyler Anderson with a 20-3 technical fall, to bring the Mules within two of the Lopers (12-3, 2-0 MIAA) at 9-8 but that was the last win for Central Missouri on the night. Zeb Spicer(157) was lost to No. 6 Chase White with a 14-5 major decision, followed by Ty Loethen‘s (165) loss to No. 5 Brock Smith with a 7-4 decision. Josh Thomson (174) fell to No. 4 Patrick Martinez with a 16-6 major decision, and Josh Ploof (184) was defeated by Mark Fiala with a 13-5 major decision. No. 1 Romero Cotton (197) beat Todd Brier with a 16-5 major decision. In the last match up of the evening, Jacob Clark (285) was pinned at 1:26 by Kelsey Empting.

This is the second ranked opponent that Collins has beaten this week. He will finish the regular season with a 15-8 overall record, and a 6-3 dual record. Cagnina has the most wins on the Mules squad, at 29-2, and is the only member of the Mules squad to finish the season undefeated in duals.

The Mules will compete at the MIAA Championship next week, on Sunday at 9 a.m. in Hays, Kan.

No. 2 Nebraska-Kearney 35, Central Missouri 8
125 – Malacai Collins (UCM) dec. No. 7 Connor Bolling (UNK) 9-3, UCM 3-0
133 – No. 1 Daniel DeShazer (UNK) pins Andrew Robinson (UCM) 1:28, UNK 6-3
141 –Brock Coutu (UNK) maj. dec. Eric Mateo (UCM) 8-0, UNK 10-3
149 – No. 3 Frank Cagnina (UCM) tech fall Tyler Anderson (UNK), 20-3, UNK 10-8
157 – No. 6 Chase White (UNK) maj. dec. Zeb Spicer (UCM) 14-5, UNK 14-8
165 – No. 5 Brock Smith (UNK) dec. Ty Loethen (UCM) 7-4, UNK 17-8
174 – No.  4 Patrick Martinez (UNK) maj. dec. Josh Thompson (UCM) 16-6, UNK 21-8
184 – Mark Fiala (UNK) maj. dec. Josh Ploof (UCM) 13-5, UNK 25-8
197 – No. 1 Romero Cotton (UNK) maj. dec. Todd Brier (UCM) 16-5, UNK 29-8
HWT – Kelsey Empting (UNK) wbf Jacob Clark (UCM) 1:26, UNK 35-8

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *