Author: Merrin Guthrie


The Fifth Wave: The Others Have Come

(WARRENSBURG, Mo.) – “The Fifth Wave,” a fiction novel written by Rick Yancy, tells the story of a young girl named Cassie who goes through an alien invasion of Earth.  The aliens in the book are called the Others, with the invasion coming in five different waves to weaken the human population, before they wipe… Read more »

A review: ‘Morning Star: Gold Has Fallen’

(WARRENSBURG, Mo.) – I read “Morningstar,” the third book of the “Red Rising” series by Peirce Brown.  At the end of book two, “Golden Son,” Darrow kills the Archgoverner of Mars, Augustus Bellona, and plunges the Golds into war with the Reds.  Darrow and the Red army are trying to build an alliance with the other… Read more »

Students decorate cupcakes at MAD event

(WARRENSBURG, Mo.) – I made a chocolate cupcake with red icing, chocolate chips with a Reese’s cup in the middle Saturday night at The Mules After Dark sponsored Cupcake Wars event in the Elliott Student Union. The event was a competition to see who could make the best cupcake that were then judged based on creativity and… Read more »

‘Every Day’: Love doesn’t have a face

(WARRENSBURG, Mo.) – “Every Day” by David Levithan tells the story of a boy named A who wakes up in someone else’s body every day. As A goes to school as different people, he meets a girl named Rhiannon. The day he meets her, he gives her his email address and they start emailing for… Read more »

‘Golden Son’: Colors collide, a review

(WARRENSBURG, Mo.) – SPOILERS ALERT: “Golden Son,” the second book is the “Red Rising” series by Pierce Brown. “Golden Son” continues the story of Darrow and his mission to take down the Gold society and lead the Reds in a revolution. In “Golden Son,” Darrow becomes a personal-hire soldier by the Arch Governor of Mars…. Read more »

A review: ‘Red Rising’

(WARRENSBURG, Mo.) – I read the first book of the “Red Rising” series by Peirce Brown.  “Red Rising” is a thrilling, science fiction book.  The story takes place in the future where mankind is now living on different planets in the solar system.  The story begins with a boy named Darrow who works in the… Read more »

A review: ‘Glass: The Monster Still Lurks’

(WARRENSBURG, Mo.) – “Glass” by Ellen Hopkins, which can be found in the James C. Kirkpatrick Library.  “Glass” is the sequel to Hopkins first book, “Crank.”  “Glass” continues the story of a girl named Kristina and her son, Hunter, who was conceived when she was raped in “Crank.”  Kristina’s boyfriend, Trey, leaves for college and her… Read more »

A review: ‘A Monster Calls: Will He Listen?’

(WARRENSBURG, Mo.) – “A Monster Calls” by Patrick Ness, found in the James C. Kirkpatrick Library is a very touching story with a good life lesson.  The story starts with a boy named Connor O’Malley whose father left when he was little, and his mother has cancer.  Connor hears a voice calling his name one… Read more »

A review: Looking for Alaska

I read “Looking for Alaska” by John Green.  “Looking for Alaska” is about a boy named Miles who is a new student at a boarding school.  There, he meets a girl named Alaska, who is wild and crazy by pulling pranks, smoking cigarettes, and getting them into trouble with their dorm keeper.  While at school,… Read more »

REVIEW: ‘The Dark tower’ series: The Gunslinger

I read “The Gunslinger”, the first book of “The Dark Tower” series by Stephen King.  I have always loved Stephen King.  His vocabulary, figurative language, and imagery are amazing.  After seeing the movie adaptation over the summer, I wanted to read the book. I found the series in the James C. Kirkpatrick library by looking… Read more »